Accused of DUI with Injury?

Riverside DUI Lawyer

If you are charged with a drunken driving incident that resulted in bodily harm to one or more victims, you could be charged with the increased offense of DUI with injury. Depending on the circumstances of the accident and your criminal record, you could be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony. The consequences of conviction are very severe, so it is imperative that you retain knowledgeable and effective legal counsel from a Riverside criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights and interests.

Possible Penalties

Misdemeanor DUI with Injury

  • 5 days to 1 year in a county jail
  • 3 to 5 years of summary probation
  • Fines of $390 to $5000
  • Mandatory enrollment in a court-approved alcohol program for 3 to 30 months
  • License suspension for 1 to 3 years
  • Restitution to the alleged victims

Felony DUI with Injury

  • 16 months to 10 years in a state prison and an additional consecutive sentence of 1 to 6 years depending on the number of victims and the extent of the injuries
  • Possible strike under California’s Three Strikes law
  • Fines of $1015 to $5000
  • Mandatory enrollment in a court-approved alcohol program for 18 to 30 months
  • DMV designation as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) for 3 years
  • Restitution to the alleged victims

Understanding the Criminal Process

The prosecutor needs to prove that (1) you were driving under the influence, (2) you were otherwise breaking the law or driving negligently and (3) that your negligence caused the injuries to the other person. We examine all three points to mount our challenge. In the breath test or field sobriety test you were given the police may have violated procedures invalidating the results. As far as you being negligent, the police most likely arrived after the accident and did not see it. They could well have based their decision on false reports or mere speculation. Finally you may not have caused the accident. Perhaps the other driver was responsible by speeding, failing to yield or being inattentive.

Enlist Powerful Defense for Your Case

If you are facing this serious charge, do not hesitate to retain the proven counsel of our skilled firm. Every case is given the full attention of our legal team, because we know how important the outcome of the case is to you and your family. We are dedicated to providing clients with experienced and aggressive defense against charges of drunk driving, and we are among the few attorneys in the state recognized as Certified Specialists in criminal law. We have years of courtroom experience and an acknowledged record of success. You owe it to yourself and your future to have top tier defense against these charges. Call our team today!

  • Certified Specialist in Criminal Law
  • Former Deputy District Attorney for Riverside County
  • Personally Handled 100+ Jury Trial Cases, Including the Death Penalty
  • Selected for Inclusion in the List of Southern California Super Lawyers®
  • Named in the Top 100 Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers
  • AV® Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell® in the Field of Criminal Law

Make the call that could change your life.

Get a Free Consultation