First Time DUI in California

Riverside DUI Attorney

Facing prosecution for drunk driving charges is always stressful, but it is especially frightening the first time you are arrested. No matter the circumstances of your charges, you must retain the representation of a skilled lawyer as soon as possible to ensure your rights and interests are protected. Our team is dedicated to providing powerful defense for drivers facing DUI charges, and we will advocate for your freedoms before the criminal courts and at your DMV hearing.

A person will be arrested and charged with DUI if they are found to have a BAC of .08% or higher, unless they are under the age of 21. Due to California’s Zero Tolerance law, underage drivers will be charged with intoxicated driving if they are operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .01% or greater. The arresting officer will ask the driver to submit to a chemical test or field sobriety test to determine their level of intoxication, and if they believe the results prove that the individual is drunk, they will be charged with DUI.

Penalties for First Time DUI

A first time DUI is a misdemeanor charge, as long as there are no other aggravating factors, such as injuries to victims or vehicular manslaughter. If convicted, you could be sentenced to a number of harsh charges, including:

  • Informal probation for 3 to 5 years
  • Fines between $390 to $1000
  • License suspension for 6 to 10 months
  • Imprisonment in a county jail as long as 6 months
  • Mandatory enrollment in a court-approved 3 to 9 month alcohol education program

Enlist Strong Defense for Your Case

We are among the few criminal defense attorneys in the state recognized by the State Bar as Certified Specialists in Criminal Law. Our team is also rated AV® Preeminent™ in criminal law by Martindale-Hubbell®, a honor only bestowed upon a select number of attorneys in the country.

Additionally, Attorney Paul Grech previously worked as a prosecutor, which means we know the strategies the prosecution will use and we are prepared to defend you against their charges. This makes it easier to negotiate the charges and seek less penalties on your behalf, and we can also provide powerful advocacy for your right to drive at your DMV hearing. We understand the devastation of facing criminal charges and the loss of your license, but you can be confident that our team will provide your case with the aggressive and experienced representation you deserve!

  • Certified Specialist in Criminal Law
  • Former Deputy District Attorney for Riverside County
  • Personally Handled 100+ Jury Trial Cases, Including the Death Penalty
  • Selected for Inclusion in the List of Southern California Super Lawyers®
  • Named in the Top 100 Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers
  • AV® Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell® in the Field of Criminal Law

Make the call that could change your life.

Get a Free Consultation