Sex Offender Registration in California

Riverside Criminal Defense Attorney

Conviction for a sexual offense in California is punishable by a number of penalties, perhaps the most damaging of which is mandatory registration as a sex offender. A person is subject to sex offender registration under Penal Code 290 for most offenses involving rape or sexual battery, most acts involving minors, child pornography, forced acts involving oral copulation, and indecent exposure, among other crimes. If you are charged with a sex crime, do not wait to enlist the defense of a Riverside criminal lawyer to help you fight the allegations and possible penalties.

Sex Offender Registration Requirements

If your sentence includes sex offender registration, you must register your primary address with your local police or sheriff's office in person within 5 days of your release. The court that handled your case will notify the California Department of Justice and they will monitor whether you complied with reporting requirements. Sex offender registration requirements include:

  • At minimum, annually updating your information at your local law enforcement office within 5 days of your birthday; if you are designated as a sexually violent predator you must update your information every 90 days
  • If you move you must report your new address to the local law enforcement offices at your old location and new location (if you relocate to a new city) within 5 days of the move
  • If you are transient and have no permanent residence, you must update your information with local law enforcement in the area of which you are staying at least once every 30 days
  • If you are enrolled at or employed at any California college or university, you must also register your information with campus police (or local law enforcement) within 5 days of your enrollment or employment and register your information within 5 days of leaving the institution
  • If you apply for or accept a paid or volunteer position that involves working with children, you must disclose your sex offender status to the organization at the time of your application or acceptance of the position
  • If you change your name, you must update your information with your local law enforcement office within 5 days

The Impact of Megan's Law

The information you report to your local law enforcement office is forwarded to the California Department of Justice and entered into the Sex Offender Tracking Program. Information about California sex offenders is available for public viewing through the state's Megan's Law website. The amount of information made public on the site is dependent upon the type of sex crime you were convicted of, but the information that is available for online viewing can include:

  • Your name
  • Your address
  • Your photo
  • Identifying information, such as your weight, height, eye color, tattoos, scars, etc.
  • The offense of which you were convicted

If you are facing sex crime charges, do not wait to obtain the defense of an experienced attorney. Grech & Packer has defended countless clients against sex crime charges in Riverside, and we can fight for you. Our team can build a comprehensive defense on your behalf and advocate for your rights before the courts and seek lesser penalties. With so much on the line, you cannot trust your case to public defender or inexperienced attorney; contact a Riverside criminal defense attorney at our offices to learn about your available options!

  • Certified Specialist in Criminal Law
  • Former Deputy District Attorney for Riverside County
  • Personally Handled 100+ Jury Trial Cases, Including the Death Penalty
  • Selected for Inclusion in the List of Southern California Super Lawyers®
  • Named in the Top 100 Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers
  • AV® Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell® in the Field of Criminal Law

Make the call that could change your life.

Get a Free Consultation