Riverside Statutory Rape Lawyer
What is statutory rape in California?
Statutory rape refers to an act of non-forcible sexual penetration with
an individual below the age of consent. In California, the age of consent
is 18 years. If this act is committed with a child below 14 years of age,
the crime is usually referred to as sexual assault. Statutory rape remains
a crime whether or not the underage person claims to have given consent,
as they are not legally capable of doing so.
Whether or not the crime is classified as a misdemeanor or felony is in
part based on the age of the parties involved and the age difference between
them. Harsher penalties are leveled at defendants 21 years of age or older.
Penalties can involve fines, probation, imprisonment and mandated treatment
services. If you have been accused of statutory rape, it is vital that
you confer with a Riverside criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Need an attorney to fight statutory rape charges in Riverside, CA?
Facing criminal charges and the threat of incarceration is a terrifying
experience. No matter your inclination to protest your innocence or discuss
the situation, do not speak to police without an attorney present. Any
statement you make can later be used against you. That is why your first
action should be to contact Grech & Packer. We are sensitive to what
you are going through and wish to use our knowledge and expertise to your
As a first step, we will demand to see the evidence the State plans to
use against you. From there we can determine whether it is possible the
charges be dropped or reduced or, if not, formulate your defense. We care
about what happens to you and your family. We will do all we can to help
you through this difficult time and pursue a positive outcome for your case.
Contact a Riverside statutory rape attorney from our firm to enlist powerful defense against your charges!