Petty Theft & Shoplifting
Riverside Criminal Defense Attorney: (951) 291-0105.
California law defines
theft as unlawfully taking the property of another person. The degree of the
crime charged and the possible penalties depend upon the type of theft
Petty theft is charged if the property stolen is valued at $950 or less, was not a
special type of item like a car or firearm, and was not taken directly
from the owner's person. Petty theft is a misdemeanor offense, and
a Riverside criminal lawyer from our firm can help you fight these charges.
Types of Petty Theft & Penalties in California
There are four main types of petty theft crimes charged in California:
Shoplifting, which is the unlawful taking of property that belongs to another person,
with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of possession of the property
Theft by trick, which can involve such actions as changing the price tag on an item in
a shop to a lesser price
Theft by embezzlement, which is taking something that you have been entrusted with, such as money
Theft by fraud or false pretense, which involves lying in order to convince the owner to give their property to you
Petty theft is a misdemeanor, and sentencing can include fines of up to
$1,000, incarceration in county jail up to 6 months, or both. Perhaps
the most significant consequence of conviction is having a theft crime
on your record. This particular crime can make it very difficult to obtain
a job, as employers are often wary of hiring someone who stole in the past.
Charged with shoplifting in Riverside?
At Grech & Packer we help clients throughout the Riverside area fight
misdemeanor and felony charges. Our firm is experienced with defending
clients against a variety of theft charges, and we can protect your rights
and advocate on behalf of your interests before the courts. If you are
accused of shoplifting or petty theft we can seek reduced charges and
penalties, depending on the circumstances of your case.